Vegan Naan Bread

What is better than a big plate of masala over basamati rice and a nice fluffy warm piece of Naan bread? In my book, not much. Indian food is on my top five favorite foods list. I was so disappointed that every package of naan bread I found had dairy & soy in them. Such an injustice to my non dairy, soy free world. I decided it was high time to come up with a recipe for naan bread that my family and I could eat. I hope you enjoy!

photo 2

Vegan Naan

1 pack active dry yeast

1 cup very warm water (110 degrees)

1 Tablespoon sugar

3 Tablespoon non dairy unsweetened milk

1 ener-g egg (prepared)

1/4 cup Spectrum organic shortening or Earth Balance soy free spread, melted

1 1/2 tsp salt

3 1/2 cups bread flour

In the pan of your bread machine, dissolve yeast in 1 cup of warm water with the 1 TBS sugar.

Let stand about 10 minutes, until frothy. Add milk, ener-g egg, shortening/butter, salt, and flour. Turn bread machine on dough cycle.

Once dough cycle is over, take dough out and break into golfball size balls. Place balls onto a baking sheet, cover with towel and let rest for 30 minutes. Should just about double in size. If they’re not, let them rest an extra 15 minutes.

Once dough has risen, pat or roll out until flat. Put a little oil into hot frying pan and cook on both sides until browned.

Standard

Leave a Reply

